Amazon Restricted Categories: Guide to Getting Ungated

By: / amazon, Amazon fba, Amazon UK / Comments Off on Amazon Restricted Categories: Guide to Getting Ungated

Amazon Restricted Categories: Guide to Getting Ungated

Selling on Amazon is recommended to sellers who can start an online business that requires ample time and effort. However, selling on Amazon is not a bed of roses as it appears to be from the outside. The most common issue sellers face is discovering that your niche in-demand has low competition, and a highly profitable product falls under Amazon’s restricted categories.


However, if you sell in the UK, you must check the category, product, and content restrictions and make sure to check the list of restricted products in your country/marketplace.

Amazon restricted Categories

If you ignore their list of restrictions, the consequences you will face are listing cancellation, listing privilege limitations, suspension, or even downright removal of your listing privileges. Learning the rules and following them takes less time than trying to get your account unsuspended or unremoved.


In case of the first violation, Amazon will send you a notification with the necessary action to avoid getting in such a situation in the future. 

Asinwiser CTA

What is the reason for gated Amazon restricted products?

This is because Amazon wants to avoid the issues that invariably crop up with selling illegal, unsafe, dangerous, or otherwise restricted products. It can be a visible legal and responsibility issue, and amazon decided it’s easier to avoid paddling in such issues.

What is Amazon restricted?

The sale of illegal, unsafe, or other restricted products listed on these pages, including products available only by prescription, is strictly prohibited. Therefore, if you supply goods on Amazon, you should carefully review the Restricted Products before listing a product on Amazon’s website.


What are the Restricted Categories on Amazon?

Amazon restricted categories are categories that Amazon refers to as ‘gated categories.’ These are specified categories that Amazon selects for reasons that differ between each category. 


However, Amazon doesn’t restrict entire categories, which was previously practised, rather than applying restrictions only in some sub-categories and sub-niches. 


Therefore, if a seller closely studies the regulations, it will appear to be a relatively small list of restricted categories yet a long list of restricted products.

 How do sellers apply for restricted categories on Amazon?

A seller needs to visit the Seller Central Home page to apply for restricted categories. To do so, click on the Catalog menu and add a Product.

  1. Hunt for the item you want to sell.
  2. Click the Show limitations link next to the product in the search results.
  3. After that, click on apply to sell the option to commence the application process.


How does a seller check if a product is restricted on Amazon?


Use your Amazon Sellers App and scan the item. When you see the listing, look for a line that says “listing limitations” or something of that nature. Click on that line, and you will see the different restrictions.


How does a seller sell restricted items on Amazon?


Once you have logged into your Amazon Seller account, follow the below-given steps:

  1. Click on the Inventory tab and choose “Add a Product.”
  2. Search for the product that you wish to sell on Amazon.
  3. Click on the link that says, “Listing limitations apply,” and follow it.
  4. Click on the “Request Approval” tab.


Restricted products can neither be listed nor be sold on Amazon for several reasons. 


Additional criteria to sell the restricted product includes:

  • An order defect rate should be below 1%
  • Pro-seller plan
  • At least three months of sales history
  • A return address in the country you are selling in OR free delivery service
  • Local language customer service support 24*7


How does a seller know if he is Amazon gated?

Amazon also has additional restrictions that a seller must be aware of. There are gated sub-categories that fall under unrestricted categories. You need to search the top-level type to see if your product falls into a gated sub-category.


 Why Does Amazon Have Restricted or Gated Categories?


Amazon restricted categories listed have niches with high potential profitability. This is exactly why Amazon wants to make sure that sellers are qualified enough before giving authority to listing products on Amazon.


Amazon’s concerns are genuine as the number of Amazon sellers increases, the danger of illegitimate sellers and shoddy products rises. Therefore, Amazon can observe standards and assure that trustworthy and reliable sellers sell genuine products by placing category restrictions.

This helps consumers buy with confidence, and Amazon avoids risk to its reputation by selling counterfeit or inferior quality products.


What If a seller Wants to Sell in Restricted Categories?

Suppose you wish to sell in an Amazon restricted category. In that case, it requires getting “ungated,” which essentially means obtaining special permission to sell in a variety that doesn’t allow sellers to sign up and start selling in simply. 


Each category requires getting ungated, but you should follow this general sequence of steps.

  1. Professional Seller Account

In most categories, a seller will need a professional seller account rather than an individual to become ungated. For example, suppose a seller wishes to sell Collectible Books. In that case, Collectible Coins, Fine Jewelry, Kindle Accessories, Major Appliances shipping costs could be an issue and more.


  1. Register yourself as a Wholesaler Account

When a seller creates a wholesale account, its address meets the one on your regular account. One thing to remember is that the LLC name and Amazon name should be different, including both.


  1. Scan the Invoices

Invoices are essential for the seller. And to get the invoices, the seller must make multiple copies of them and put the originals away for protection. A seller can make marks or additions on the documents but not on the sources. While making multiple copies, make sure the seller’s name is at the top. And also, don’t forget to include below things as well:

  • Each product on the invoice must have ASIN, UPC, and the product’s model number beside it.
  • The invoice copies should be of hi-resolution and waterproof to avoid any damage.
  1. Order History

A seller needs to buy about ten products from three different categories that he wishes to get ungated in, such as ten collectable books, ten grocery items, and ten watches. A seller could retain these items or sell them in his listings but don’t expect to profit because the ultimate goal is to get through the ungating process.


Final Takeaway

If you are wondering whether getting approval for Amazon restricted categories is worth all the effort or not. Well, it is! The process initially appears to be a complex process.


 We understand those category restrictions are frustrating, confusing, and time-consuming. However, once you gain approval, a seller will get an advantage over other Amazon sellers. Selling within restricted categories can be a powerful strategy to gain an edge over your competitors. Believe us; rewards are high and fulfilling if you, a seller, step out of your comfort zone.

The rewards are worth every effort when a seller finally gets approval for Amazon restricted categories.

Good Luck!

Asinwiser-Banner -CTA

Explore Asinwiser, an intelligent Amazon software tool for you, to build your career as an Amazon reseller. Click here to find more information.